Beef O Brady Bowl

Beef O Bradys Bowl

The Beef O Brady Bowl (or in correct spelling, the Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl) in St. Petersburg was previously called St Petersburg Bowl and is fairly new. The first college football bowl game named as St. Petersburg Bowl was played in 2008. To be exact, game day was December 20th, 2008 when the South Florida Bulls and the Memphis Tigers got together in this match-up. The bowl game name was official changed to the St. Petersburg Bowl presented by Beef 'O' Brady's in 2009, when Beef 'O' Brady's became the title sponsor.

Beef O Brady's Bowl Logo

The game usually features a match-up of teams from the Big East Conference and Conference USA, unless one of the conferences does not have enough teams bowl eligible, in which case the Sun Belt Conference is eligible to send a team. The latter actually happened in 2011, when Florida International got the call to play in the Bowl.

2011 Beef 'O' Brady's Bowl

The 2011 Beef O Brady Bowl was played on 12/20/2011 at 8pm EST with a match-up of Marshall and FIU, with Marshall winning 20 to 10. Marshall (7-6) overcame a slow start of the season to win five of its last seven games and avoid a losing record in its second consecutive season. FIU (8-5) was denied a school-record 9th victory.

Marshall - FIU First Half Highlights 2011 Beef O' Brady's Bowl

Marshall - FIU Second Half Highlights 2011 Beef O' Brady's Bowl

2010 Beef 'O' Brady Bowl

The 2010 Bowl game was played on 12/21/2010 at 8pm EST with a match-up of Southern Miss Golden Eagles and the Louisville Cardinals. Louisville won the game over Southern Miss 31 to 28. The Cardinals came out flat early and nearly got knocked out by Southern Miss while falling behind 14-0. But in their 1st bowl game since the 2007 Orange Bowl, Louisville would just not quit. Despite getting out-gained in total yardage, Charlie Strong's team kept chipping away until taking its first lead with 4:24 minutes left on a Chris Philpott field goal.

2009 Magic Jack St. Petersburg Bowl

The 2009 St. Petersburg Bowl presented by Beef O Brady's featured the UCF Knights vs. Rutgers Scarlet Knights. The game was played on December 19th, 2009 at Tropicana Field in St. Petersburg, FL with Rutgers winning the game 45 to 24.

Tropicana Field St. Petersburg

Tropicana Field is a domed stadium and has been the home of the Tampa Bay Rays since 1998. It has also already served as the host stadium for the 2008 St. Petersburg Bowl in December 2008. It is the only stadium in history to host full seasons of professional baseball, football, hockey and arena football, as well as college basketball and college football contests.

Buy St Petersburg Bowl tickets now and be one of those enthusiastic fans at Tropicana Field.

Previous games (St. Petersburg and Beef O Brady Bowl) include these line-ups:
  • 2011: Marshall 20 - FIU 10
  • 2010: Southern Mississippi 28 - Louisville 31
  • 2009: Rutgers 45 - UCF 24
  • 2008: South Florida 41 - Memphis 14

Bowl Sponsors and Logos:

  • Beef 'O' Brady's (2009–)
    Beef O Brady's Bowl Logo
  • Magic Jack (2008)
    Magic Jack Bowl Logo

Back to top of this Beef O Brady Bowl page

Home of

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.