Capital One Bowl

Capital One Bowl Tickets

The Capital One Bowl game (named after its title sponsor Capital One) is an annual college football bowl game in the post-season and traditionally takes place on New Year's Day (right before the Rose Bowl) in Orlando, Florida. The game is the 3rd oldest non-BCS bowl game behind the Cotton Bowl and the Sun Bowl.

Capital One Bowl Logo

Since its inception in 1947 the Bowl was known under different names: The Tangerine Bowl, the Florida Citrus Bowl, and the Capital One Florida Citrus Bowl. It is also situated right below the top tier Bowl Championship Series (BCS) bowls, which gives it 1st choice (after the BCS) from the SEC (Southeastern Conference) and the Big Ten.

For the 2010 bowl game the following teams will be matched-up: The Penn State Nittany Lions, representing Pennsylvania State University from University Park, PA in the Big Ten Conference vs. the LSU Tigers, representing Louisiana State University (LSU), Baton Rouge, LA in the SEC (Southeastern Conference) Western Division.

The title sponsor (2001 - present) is Capital One Financial Corp. (NYSE: COF), a Fortune 500, U.S. based bank holding company in Tysons Corner, VA, that we all know for financial services and products from credit cards, home loans, auto loans, and banking, to savings products.

The Florida Citrus Bowl Stadium (formerly Orlando Stadium, Tangerine Bowl and the Citrus Bowl) was opened in 1936 with a capacity of 10,000. Over time the stadium was expanded several times and can now seat over 70,000 spectators for different sports. That made it a so-called multi-purpose stadium. Its main purpose, however, is football with other main events being the Champs Sports Bowl, as well as (non-football sport) Monster Jam.

Citrus Bowl Orlando Florida

Buy your Capital One Bowl Tickets now before it is too late and be one of the tens of thousands enthusiastic fans in this great stadium.

Previous games included these line-ups:
  • 2010: Penn State Nittany Lions 19 vs. LSU Tigers 17
  • 2009: Georgia Bulldogs 24 vs. Michigan State Spartans 12
  • 2008: Florida Gators 35 vs. Michigan Wolverines 41
  • 2007: Wisconsin Badgers 17 vs. Arkansas Razorbacks 14
  • 2006: Wisconsin Badgers 24 vs. Auburn Tigers 10
  • 2005: Iowa Hawkeyes 30 vs. LSU Tigers 25
  • 2004: Georgia Bulldogs 34 vs. Purdue Boilmakers 27 (OT)
  • 2003: Auburn Tigers 13 vs. Penn State Nittany Lions 9
  • 2002: Tennessee 45 vs. Michigan 17

Go back to Top of this Capital One Bowl page

Back to All About Bowl Games Home

Share this page:
Enjoy this page? Please pay it forward. Here's how...

Would you prefer to share this page with others by linking to it?

  1. Click on the HTML link code below.
  2. Copy and paste it, adding a note of your own, into your blog, a Web page, forums, a blog comment, your Facebook account, or anywhere that someone would find this page valuable.